March Update 2017

Wow, I feel like I was just writing my February Update. These past few months have just been FLYING by.

Something very big happened this past month…We decided on a school!

The schooling situation for my sister and I has been very complicated, since moving to France.  I will explain it in the least complicated way I can come up with. : )

We arrived in France during the summer of 2015. That fall, we started school in a French school. We were under the impression that we would be learning French and moving into classes as our language allowed. That was not the case. We were thrown right into school with just a few afternoons a week being in language tutoring. As you can imagine, that was not enough for us to keep up in school, knowing only a little of the language.

This only lasted about a semester, then we started online school. At this point, we were a semester behind because the time in french school could not count towards our schooling because of how much the language effected the education we were getting. Moving to online was definitely a solution, but also a huge problem in itself. I am a very non self motivated person, and home school/online school requires a tremendous amount of self motivation. Staying home, by yourself, all day is just not for me. I don’t want to sound to dramatic, but french school and online school were some of the least fun, most stressful things I have had to do in my life.

After moving to Chad, we needed to continue with online schooling, to finish up the year we signed up for. After finally finishing the school year we signed up for, we were still a semester behind (because of the time in french school). Continuing with online school was not for us, so we decided we would hold off on schooling until the next school year when we could start fresh with something new.

We decided that we would go to  Hillcrest Academy!!

Hillcrest academy is a boarding school in Minnesota. This coming school year (2017-2018), Livvy and I will be attending Hillcrest as boarding students. They are even going to let me go into 9th grade! That is the grade I should be in, but I would be a year behind with all the time I missed.

My parents can go back to the states in August, but Livvy and I get to go home for the summer, because with no schooling there is nothing we need to stay for. I can’t wait to see everyone again and spend the summer doing old traditions again and making new memories. I have always thought about how cool it would be to live in a dorm room and I just CAN’T WAIT for what God has in store for me this coming year.


 

Sadly, this is also the month that Tater had to leave. She left a few weeks ago , and went out into the village, where she is going to be a shepherd dog.  It is sad that she has to leave, but I am still glad we got to save a life and spend two months with an adorable puppy, so everybody wins!

IMG_0713[1]



 

I also had my birthday this month. We took a little trip to a nearby hotel for a night. We had a nice relaxing time with hot water showers, good food, and watched the Breakfast Club. We also got to use the huge pool the next day. They even sent me home with a little cake!

After we came home, we had some teammates and a friend over for cake, and on my actual birthday our teammates made me, yet, another cake!

IMG_0875[1]


 

The end of March also brought another home school week!! Home school week is a week that happens twice a year. Another mission puts on a VBS sort of thing, and all the missionary families in the village come into town so all the kids can spend the time together.

IMG_0791[1]


One thing that I also really want to talk about is what I want my blog to be in the future.

In a previous monthly update, I mentioned how I wanted to not write as much about my time here, but more of a lifestyle blog, containing different subjects, and catering to a different audiences. For a while now I have sort of ignored it, because I just didn’t know how to go about it and didn’t really want to mess with it. Well, now I do.

I want to post about “girlish” things and things that other lifestyle bloggers post about.

Just a little heads up because I don’t expect topics like nail polish to be interesting to everyone who follows my blog. Basically, I will write about what I am interested in and you choose what you want to read. XD

Now I know, you’re probably thinking, “When is she going to stop writing ABOUT her blog, and just started writing ON her blog”, and I will stop XD I just want to be clear about where I am going, and how my blog is coming with me.



 

That’s all for now!!

Lots of Love – Abby<3

17 thoughts on “March Update 2017

  1. I’m very glad that you’ll be able to go back to the States. I know MK life isn’t easy, and it’s not made for everyone. I think you’ll enjoy boarding school. Is it Christian? I love reading your blog, and I’ll enjoy whatever you post (girly stuff or not). 😀

    Like

  2. I’m very glad that you’ll be able to go back to the States. I know MK life isn’t easy, and it’s not made for everyone. I think you’ll enjoy boarding school. Is it Christian? I love reading you blog, and I’ll enjoy whatever you post (girly stuff or not). 😀

    Like

  3. We can hardly express to you how excited we are about this decision!!!! 💕💕💕💕 Both Brent and I are really looking forward to being your Fergus family while you’re at Hillcrest, and are already praying for your time here! Yay!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

