10 Things I Have Learned from Living in a Third World Country

1. Hunger is real.

Living in The U.S., where there are five restaurants and two grocery stores on every corner, does not give us a real idea of what hunger is. We all know about the countries with people who are poor and hungry, but there is no way of knowing what it is like until you have seen it first hand. the sad reality is that there are people living all around me, who barely have enough money to put food in their bellies. Not only is that sad, it’s a little scary.

2. You can be content with what you have.

In America, it is so easy to caught up in what we don’t have, rather than what we do. The people here have taught me that it is okay to be content in what you have and not dwell on what doesn’t matter.

3. Little is okay.

Not everything needs flashing lights and sparkly bling. You don’t need the latest model for the product to work. If I up and got rid of half my things today, I wouldn’t even need to miss them. Living where I do has taught me that it doesn’t really matter how much of something you have, or how big it is, just that we have what we need.

5. American cuisine is fabulous.

I love American foods, and can’t wait to have them again.

6. Animals don’t need to be treated like kings and queens.

Animals around the world aren’t always treated that well. Some are treated like royalty. I think there is a fine compromise in how our animals should be treated.

7. If you always stayed in your comfort zone, you wouldn’t have very many interesting stories to tell.

I never imagined I would start a sentence by saying, “When I was on a safari in Africa…”. Africa is not exactly in my comfort zone, but I wouldn’t be able to tell that cool story without the experience.

8. Begging is real.

I am sad to say that I have also experienced begging firsthand. There are many people who look to others for help, and the struggle is when you just can’t help them.

9. Having more can make you ungrateful.

In the midst of struggles, these people are so thankful for what they do have. It is easier, for me, to think about what I want and don’t have, rather than what I do have and should be thankful for. These people are an example to me of how you should be thankful, no matter the amount of things you have.

10. I am incredibly blessed with everything I have.

There is almost no way to thank God enough for all He has given me. I have everything I need, a lot of things I have wanted, and more than I can say. I cannot express how grateful I am to God for putting me in the family I am in, the friends he has surrounded me with, the religion I was brought up in, the food of my table, the roof over my head… I could go on and on.

 

Click here to read 20 Things Missionaries Know to be too True and 10 Things I am Incredibly Blessed With!!

Comment below things that you want me to write about, and new post ideas!!

Thanks for reading,

Lots of Love – Abby<3

22 thoughts on “10 Things I Have Learned from Living in a Third World Country

  1. Thank you for the great reminders of greatfulness each of us need. May you and your family have a blessed and joyous Easter! Praying for your family.

    Like

  2. You are wise beyond your years Abby! You already understand what matters most in this world. Thanks for the reminder to always be grateful for what we have and to be generous to those who are in need. God bless!

    Like

  3. We are thankful for your blog and how our eyes are being ‘opened’ to what it means to be a missionary in Chad.
    Mark & Deb Evans

    Like

  4. Abby, I am so incredibly proud of you and all of your insights. You are teaching (add that to you list of accomplishments–teacher) all of us so much with your blogs. I’m looking forward to your next one! Love and hugs, Aunt Beth

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

